CPR and First Aid

Image result for cpr

Yesterday I went through the American Heart Association’s CPR and First Aid training for the 6th time in my life. Although very little has changed, I seem to learn something new (or maybe relearn something I had completely forgotten) every time I take this classThis year was the first year I went through the training having actually experienced using my CPR skills on another person. Not long after I took the class in 2015, my older daughter had a near-drowning event. She fell into a pool and in her surprise, she inhaled sharply under water. It was the scariest thing I have ever seen or had to do. I knew she couldn’t breathe and I knew she needed help but my mind actually went blank. Luckily, I snapped out of it in just a few seconds- but it felt like a lifetime.

I want to urge any parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles or babysitters who may be reading this to take this class through the American Heart Association. I am fairly certain I did the CPR incorrectly, but I was able to get the water out of Amelia’s lungs so that she could breathe. Would you know what to do if someone around you had a medical emergency? This class covers CPR, AED (automated external defibrillator) use, insect stings/bites, snake bites, broken bones, cuts, burns and choking. BTW I have also used the skills I learned in this class for someone who was choking. 

Make sure you  will be able to help when an emergency happens.

Leave a Reply

