The End of My New Year’s Resolutions

Image may contain: ocean, sky, cloud, water, outdoor and nature

My reason to workout- I could say I want to feel better, be healthier blah blah blah…. but the real honest truth is that we are going to the beach again for vacation this summer and I don’t want to be embarrassed in my bathing suit.

It is the middle of March and to say I am struggling to keep up with the New Year’s Resolutions I mad back in January would be an understatement. This is the time of year when things get really busy at work, at school and with kids. It is the time of year when I am tired of my exercise program and I am tired from commuting to Stillwater for grad school. I am just tired and I am not keeping up! I am struggling and I need help to stay the course.

Do you ever feel like this? Probably. Am I alone? Probably not.

But what can we do about it? Here are my ideas, and hopefully I will take my own advice.

  1. Workout with a partner. You’re less likely to skip your workouts if someone is expecting you.
  2. Exercise first thing in the morning. I used to do this and it really helped. It’s nice to have that task checked off the list early. Maybe this is the one for me.
  3. Write it on your calendar- then put the calendar someplace you will see it.
  4. Find a program you enjoy. Don’t like running? Try yoga. Don’t like yoga? Try pilates. Don’t like pilates? Try kickboxing. Don’t like kickboxing? Try swimming…. Get the idea?

Now, let’s all get out there and exercise!

Leave a Reply

