QuickTip Tuesday:Packing a Lunch

Today my college classes start back up. This is my LAST semester taking actual classes for my master’s! I’m excited to be seeing the light at the end of this tunnel, but it means that my Tuesdays just got really long. This morning for example, I woke up to get in my workout at 5 am. I went to the office and will leave straight from work to go to class. I will likely not be home until 8:30 tonight and I do not want to have to grab fast food today. I have packed my lunch and a snack for later and will have dinner when I get home.

Here’s my tip for packing an awesome lunch: Have good quality tools and use good quality foods. I bought myself a nice, big insulated lunch bag and some nice plastic food containers. It is better for the environment and feels a little better than cheapo plastic baggies. Also- be sure to pack veggies. Americans have a hard time getting in their recommended 5 servings of fruits and vegetables each day. That’s in part because take out lunches don’t typically include those food groups. Pack your own lunch and you can include a hearty salad full of fruits and vegetables. Today I used pre-washed, bagged lettuce, banana peppers, olives and ham. I put my dressing in a separate little tub to be poured on later and I also brought some tomato soup to go with it. I threw in a container of grapes and a cheese stick.

Leave a Reply

