Foodie Friday: Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

I have tried several different ways to do chicken noodle soup. I almost always eat it from a can at least a few times a year, but I have finally found a way to do it that is loved by everyone in the house! My mom says it’s too dry, and not really soup. My kids and husband (who are not big soup fans) think it’s fantastic!

1 lb chicken thighs, grilled and cubed
1 large onion, finely diced
4-5 large carrots, peeled and diced
1 stalk celery, diced- because I don’t like much celery. Add more if you like it.
32 oz chicken broth,  low sodium
1 medium bag egg noodles
2 bay leaves
salt and pepper to taste

I start by seasoning my chicken with salt and pepper. I grill it until it’s cooked through (internal temp of 165). While it cools,I heat my dutch oven on medium with a good coating of olive oil on the bottom. Then I start on the veggies. Once they are peeled and diced, I throw them in the dutch oven, all together to start sauteing. I let them cook for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally, then throw in the chicken. Let that cook for a couple minutes, then add in the chicken broth and bay leaves and season with salt and pepper. I let it simmer for about 30 minutes and add in the noodles. Once the noodles are tender, it’s done. Remove the bay leaves. If you let it go longer, the noodles will soak up most of the broth and the soup is more like chicken and noodles than soup. That’s how my kids like it. It’s up to you how you want to do it.

Leave a Reply

