Foodie Friday: Southern Salad

Photo of KD's - Oklahoma City, OK, United States. Southern fried chicken salad.

I have mentioned this salad several times on my blog, but I don’t think I’ve ever done an actual recipe post for it. I had it as a side salad at a well-known restaurant that recently went out of business in OKC. It didn’t go out because it wasn’t a popular place to eat, but because it’s owner and namesake left the state- for *ahem* California.

I don’t actually have a “recipe,” but I can tell you how I build my southern salad:

I start with a handful of greens in a bowl. I like romaine, but you could use a mix if you like. Next, I throw in very thinly sliced red onion and very thinly sliced red bell pepper. I cut cherry tomatoes in half lengthwise and toss them into the bowl. I also add in some goat cheese crumbles- just a little. Lastly, top it all off with cornbread croutons. I like to toss mine in blue cheese dressing, but you could use whatever dressing you like.

Please don’t leave out the onion. The onion makes it. You’ll thank me!

**The picture above was taken from Yelp.com. It’s this salad with fried chicken on top.

Leave a Reply

