Foodie Friday: School Lunches

As my first born is getting ready to start Kindergarten, I am starting to think about what she might eat for lunch. This will be her first year eating lunch at school. The lunch menu for the first two days and the following week are posted on the school website, and a quick gander at what’s being served tells me we need to pack lunches. I am not complaining about the quality or nutritional value of the lunches, I just know what my daughter will and will not eat. And she won’t eat most of what is listed. I don’t want to coddle her, but I don’t want her to go hungry either. I definitely don’t want to feel like I’m throwing $2.50 per day into the trash! So…. I’m in need of a lunch plan.

The reality of the situation is that I know Amelia will be eating PBJ sandwiches more often than I would like to admit to myself. But I have been perusing Pinterest *you know, my favorite website?* and there are a lot of ideas out there. Some are really good and some are just insane.

I did find one little jewel though. This weekday meal planner that is perfect for planning out lunchbox fillers!

Please help me out. What are your favorite go-to lunch box meals? What do your kids love in their lunches?

Leave a Reply

