QuickTip Tuesday: Checking if Avocados are Ripe

It really makes me cringe when I see people in the grocery store squeezing avocados to check ripeness. Every time someone does this, a fairy dies the avocado bruises. I have more than once picked up an avocado that had been squeezed too many times and had it completely come apart in my hand from all the abuse. So, if you aren’t supposed to squeeze them, how can you tell if they are ripe? I’ll tell you. Hold the avocado gently in one hand. Take the middle finger or ring finger of your other hand and press slightly on the blossom end (that’s opposite of the stem end). If it gives at all, it’s ripe. Don’t press hard and stick your finger through the thing. It doesn’t take much pressure at all.

BONUS TIP

Fool Proof Guacamole
I love me some guacamole. But I’ll warn you, I like it spicier than you will get at a Tex Mex restaurant.

2 ripe avocados
1 tsp garlic salt
2 tbsp medium chunky salsa
1 tbsp lime juice
2-3 dashes hot sauce

I mash my avocados with a fork. I like a few bigger pieces in there. I don’t want it to be totally smooth. Then I sprinkle all the other ingredients in and mix well. If it’s not salty enough, add more garlic salt. If it’s not garlicky enough, add garlic powder. If it’s not spicy enough, add more hot sauce. Too spicy? Add a little more lime juice. Make it yours!

Eat it with chips, veggies, quesadillas, tacos…. Or with a spoon. No? Just me then? Okay.

Leave a Reply

