My First 10K

On April 16, I ran in my very first 10K race. I am proud to say I beat my goal time, I didn’t fall down and I didn’t throw-up. It was really a lot of fun. I ran in the Remember the 10 race on the Oklahoma State University campus. This race is a memorial event to honor 10 members of the OSU family (involved with the basketball team) who lost their lives in a plane crash in 2001. It’s a great race and I love running through the OSU campus.

My mom and my twin sister ran the 5K, and my husband and I ran the 10K. We all rode to Stillwater together and got lined up. Let me just say, running with family is wonderful! It’s a great way to spend the day together, doing something that makes us all stronger and healthier. I also want to say something about the running community in general: If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter if you run for 30 seconds and then walk for 2 minutes, and continue for 1 mile or 26 miles. You are a runner.

These races are so much fun because very few people are there to win. For many of us, meeting our own goals and beating our own records is enough. Just finishing is an accomplishment. When 100, 1,000 or 5,000 runners are milling around, waiting for a race to start, there is an electric charge in the air. Everyone is anxious and excited. While running, complete strangers encourage one another. It’s a great feeling! When I was getting tired and wanting to stop and walk a little while, the runners around me encouraged me to keep going. It helps. It really does. And it gives you the warm fuzzies when you know that you may have helped someone else simply by being there.

Having Zach with me definitely helped my time. He used his fancy GPS watch to make sure that we met our goal. He also pushed me to run a lot more and walk a lot less than I am used to. I have typically been running miles 1, 3, an 5 and mostly walking miles 2, 4, and 6. He made me run to each mile marker and then only let me walk for 15 seconds. I ended up getting a PR (personal record) for my fastest ever 5K and then my fastest ever 10K (though it was only my second ever 10K).

This is me with my sister and mom. I’m sorry that I didn’t get a picture of Zach and me together.

Leave a Reply

