10K Training Update

Me, my twin and my college roommate at my very first race.

 

I posted about my newest fitness goal a couple weeks back, and I promised an update. Here goes….

I used the Runners’ World app on my phone to map out a training plan for myself. I wrote this down in my calendar at work and at home, so that I would have it glaring at me anytime I felt like wimping out on my run. This strategy has *mostly* worked for me so far. I am using the Nike app to actually map and track my progress. I know that there are a LOT of running apps out there, and I don’t know much about any of them. I signed up for Nike Running back in 2011 when I got my first smartphone, and it is just so familiar and comfortable that I keep using it even though all my friends have moved on to newer apps.

Week one went something like this:
W1D1: 4.01 miles at an average pace of 12:02 per mile.
W1D2: 2.01 miles at an average pace of 11:46 per mile.
W1D3: Rest day
W1D4: I was supposed to run 4 miles, but I had to work that night, so I skipped it
W1D5: 5.00 miles at an average pace of 11:45 per mile.

I was feeling pretty good after week 1. I shaved some time off my average pace by walking less.

Week 2 went like this:
W2D1: 2.00 miles at an average pace of 11:43 per mile.
W2D2: 4.01 miles at an average pace of 11:53 per mile.
W2D3: 2.51 miles at an average pace of 11:33 per mile.
W2D4: I skipped my run because I am too wimpy to run in the rain.
W2D5: 4.00 miles at an average pace of 11:59 per mile.

I am currently in the middle of week 3. I don’t run on Mondays and I ran 4.02 miles yesterday at an average pace of 12:03 per mile- it was sooo windy, so I don’t feel too bad about slowing down a little bit. I will run another 4 today, and 2 tomorrow. At the suggestion of Husbee, I am going to do a “mile test” tomorrow. I am going to run the first of my 2 miles just as fast as I possibly can and see how/if my speed improves over time. This will be my first mile test.

Husbee ran with me yesterday and when I asked if he had any criticism or advice, he said “My first question is ‘Did you get out and run?’ The answer is yes, so that’s all we can ask for.” Great point, honey! I am putting this out there to encourage the other slow-pokes, like myself, to just get out and run, walk or combination to your next goal!

See you out there!

running

Me with my  high school besties- and my fastest 5K run.

Leave a Reply

