Setting a Fitness Goal

A lot of people think about fitness in terms of weight/weight loss. That’s great for a while. It’s easy to be motivated to lose weight for a short period, but then we burn out. We get off track. We forget about our goals.

I love having fitness goals that are about something else. I like having short-term challenges for myself. I am just finishing up an 8 week challenge I set for myself to do a specific (and very difficult) commercially sold exercise video program. This is the last week and I am so glad it’s almost over. I’m tired of it. I’m bored with it. I need something new!

Starting February 29, for the next six weeks, I am training for my very first 10K race. I am pretty pumped! I will keep you updated on my progress. Race day is April 16. Week one of my crash-course training will look something like this:

In case you’re unfamiliar with the metric system, 10K is 6.2 miles. The longest race I’ve done to date was 4 miles, and that was in 2012!! I have run at total of 3 miles in 2016, and I didn’t run much more than that in 2015!

Monday: Stretch workout
Tuesday: 4 miles
Wednesday: 2 miles (easy pace), 4×1 minute intervals of faster paced, 2 more mile (easy pace)
Thursday: Rest
Friday: 4 miles easy with 3 gentle pick-ups
Saturday: 5 miles, easy pace

I will probably be walking a lot this week! I know I can run a solid mile, and by solid I mean slow but steady. I know I can almost run a (very) slow 2 miles. I don’t know I can run any further than that without stopping to walk some. That’s okay with me! I will do the best I can and I will be proud of that!

One thought on “Setting a Fitness Goal

  1. Pingback: 10K Training Update | Jessica's Kitchen Table

Leave a Reply

