Foodie Friday: Winter Stockpile

 

Winter Stockpile

Have you ever been home from work due to a sudden ice/snow storm that happened before you got to the grocery store? It’s awful. Trust me. So every fall, I make a winter stockpile of pantry items that can be used to pull together a hearty winter meal. It can really make a spike in your grocery tab if you try to do it all at once, so I buy a few things each week. I’ve already started. Here is my winter stock pile list:

  • canned, diced tomatoes
  • canned, diced tomatoes with green chiles
  • canned, crushed tomatoes
  • all kinds of canned beans
  • tomato sauce
  • canned corn
  • dried pasta
  • frozen mixed veggies
  • beef broth
  • chicken broth
  • ground beef-for the freezer
  • frozen chicken (pre-cooked or raw)
  • frozen biscuits/bread dough OR the ingredients for homemade

I have found that this list will suffice for any number of hearty meals. I almost can’t wait to be snowed in with my little girlies! We might just have to bake some bread and break out the sled!!

 

*Photocred to my husband, Zach Riggin with Zach Riggin Photography

Leave a Reply

