Foodie Friday: Building The Perfect Salad

I don’t know about you, but I get really disappointed when I order a side salad at a restaurant and what I am served is a sad little bowl of shredded iceberg lettuce and maybe a couple little pieces of mealy tomato. It actually ruins my entire dining experience, even if  my main dish was great.

If you got a chance to see my May Menu or my June Menu,  you know we eat a lot of salad at our house- and there is something to building a great salad. Sure, you could buy a ready to eat bag of salad greens and top it with some jarred dressing, but it just wouldn’t really be all that satisfying, and it could be a lot more nutritious!

There are lot of different types of salads, but I’m going to focus on the simple garden/green salad that starts with a base of lettuce and builds from there. I like to start with at least two different types of lettuce. One needs to have some body to it and the other can be more delicate. OR you could use any combination using more than two types of lettuce.

Once I have my lettuce washed and cut up (I like bite-sized pieces or slightly larger. Do not bring me a bowl of shredded lettuce.) I start on veggies. I like to do at least three other vegetables, besides lettuce. My go-to veggies are cherry tomatoes, red onion, and red bell pepper. You could use any veggies you like, and you can use as many as you want!

Next, pile on the toppings. I LOVE goat cheese on a salad. There is just something about the creamy texture and tangy flavor that really compliments my three favorite salad veggies. I also enjoy everything else on my “toppings” list shown below.

Top with you favorite salad dressing and you’re on your way. You can buy salad dressing in bottles in the store. They’re not even very expensive, but I do not really care too much for store-bought salad dressing. (I heard somewhere that making my own salad dressing makes me a hipster- which I am not, but to each his own!) My favorite salad dressing as of late is a homemade balsamic vinaigrette.  I start with 1/2 cup olive oil in a mason jar, I add in 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar, 1 tablespoon dijon mustard, one pressed clove of garlic, salt and pepper and  good squeeze of honey. I put the lid on and shake it all up. Easy peazy.

salad formula

 

Leave a Reply

