Nicoise Salad

In my previous menu planning posts, I have had Mondays be “Slow-Cooker Mondays.” It has helped me to have a formula for my menu planning, but I don’t really like my slow-cooker for warmer weather. It seems that my go-to slow cooker meals are hearty and heavy and perfect for cold temperatures. SO… For the Spring and Summer months I am doing Salad Mondays. I will be featuring some really hearty salads on Mondays in my  home. Last week I served Niçoise Salad and it was awesome.

Niçoise Salad is named for the type of olives that are typically used, the Niçoise olive. The olive is called that because it is grown in the Nice region of France. I think any old black olive will work in this salad if you have trouble finding Niçoise olives- like I did. I just left them off completely (mostly because I forgot them.)

Also, if you serve this salad, it must be pronounced correctly: Salade Niçoise (salad nee-swah)and said in your very best Julia Child voice. That’s just how it is done. Here’s the recipe:

The Vinaigrette

2 tbsp lemon juice
2-3 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 clove garlic, minced or pressed
1 tsp dijon mustard
2 tbsp chopped fresh herbs of your choice (Parsley is a good one,)
3 tbsp olive oil
5 tbsp low-fat plain yogurt

I put all of these things in a mason jar, put the lid on and shake. You could whisk them together in a bowl if you prefer to be more proper.

The Salad

4 medium new potatoes, scrubbed, diced and steamed
1 head or bag of lettuce of your choice
1/2 lb grated carrots
1/2 lb fresh green beans, steamed
1-2 large tomatoes, diced,
1 small cucumber, peeled and diced
1 bell pepper, cut into strips
2 hard boiled eggs, peeled and diced
1 handful of ripe/black olives
Canned tuna or chicken- or any other protein you might like.

Lay the lettuce on the serving dish to make a little bed. Then you have two choices. You could put all the ingredients in a large bowl and toss together with the dressing, OR you could lay them out on the platter and top with the dressing. As my father would have said, “It’s all going the same place anyway.”

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

