Early To Rise: The 2-Month Update

I told you back in January that I don’t really do New Year’s resolutions. I think they are often too vague, too lofty and doomed to failure. What I like to do is short-term goals, with an end date in mind. If you missed it, you can read that blog post here. I set a goal to get up at 5:00 AM for two months. I wanted to do this to help myself be more productive and have more peace/less chaos in the mornings. I promised to update you all on how it went.

For the month of January I set my alarm for 5 and hit “snooze” about 3 times each morning. That still gets me up by 5:27. I got up, did hair and make-up, made coffee, checked Facebook, watched the morning news and ate breakfast. I got my kids up by 6:30 and fed them. Life was pretty good. I did have more peace and less chaos. Getting Amelia (the 4-year-old going on 14) up by 6:30 gave her time to get used to the idea of being up before actually having to do anything. This made it much easier on me. Within half an hour she was alert and ready to eat breakfast and get dressed. This is working!

One thing I noticed right away: When you are getting up a lot earlier, you have to go to bed earlier too. Because I am now going to bed shortly after my kids are in bed, I have to be really strict about their bedtimes. I also watch a lot less television!

Next came February. I changed the game a little. In my January post, I had mentioned that I might like to work out before work if I could get up earlier. In February, I started actually getting up at 5:00 am. I joined a challenge group on Facebook for working out. There are 5 or 6 members, and we are all doing the same workout. It’s one of those programs that you buy a set of DVD’s to follow along at home. Being in this Facebook group has really helped me stay motivated! I know that 5:00 am is the only time I have to get this workout done, so I have to get up or I let my group down. Plus, pride. I am happy to say that I have done this every single day that I have had to go to work. Our workouts are Mon-Fri, so I let myself sleep a little longer on weekends and holidays (we did have one in February).

I had set the goal for 2 months. It is over after this week- but my workout challenge group is 8 weeks long, so I guess I’ll keep it up for at least another 4 weeks!

Leave a Reply

