Quick Tip Tuesday: Fruit and Veggie Prep

When I get home from the grocery store and put away all my groceries, I prep my fruits and veggies. I fill the sink with cold water and about a cup of white vinegar. Then I put all my fruits and veggies in there (including things I will peel) and let it all sit for 10-15 minutes while I take care of some other things. When I come back, I let the water out and rinse everything with cold water. I put apples, bananas, oranges, and anything else that doesn’t go in the fridge into my fruit bowl. I put grapes in zip-top bags, berries in a berry basket and I cut up any veggies I want for snacking and put them in zip-top bags too. Everything that needs to be refrigerated goes on a refrigerator shelf, not in the crisper drawer. This way, I see these things every time I open the fridge. Not only is it going to be convenient for me to use, it will also be at the forefront of my mind when I need a snack!

My rule of thumb for where to store is this: If it is in a cooler at the grocery store, I put it in the fridge. If it is not in a cooler at the store, I put it on my counter top.

Leave a Reply

