Early to Rise

I don’t really do New Year’s Resolutions. But I do set goals. The only goal I have set for myself in the near future is to get up earlier. I have gotten in a really bad habit of pushing “snooze” on my alarm clock 2 or 3 times each morning. My alarm goes off at 6:00 am, but I rarely get up before 6:30. I do my hair and makeup really quickly, then I feed the baby. By this time it is about 7:15 and I know I need to wake up my 4-year-old, but I also know she is going to be a BEAR! I begrudgingly start the morning fight to get her dressed and then, before I know it, the babysitter is knocking on my door and I am carrying a kicking, whining, unfed kid to her car in my pajamas.

No more.

This year I am going to wake up earlier. That was not specific enough, because goals need to be SMART (specific, measurable, attainable, realistic and timely). I am going to wake up at 5:00 am (no later than 5:30) each weekday morning for two months. I am saying two months because I am hoping for it to become habit by then. After two months, I will reassess if waking up earlier is making my life easier.

Here is what I am hoping waking up earlier will do for me:

I will be able to workout before work. I have been trying to workout in the afternoons for the past few months, but it is spotty. It’s really hard to get a good workout with my kids at home, and in order to do it before I pick them up, I have to leave work early. That is just impossible.

I will have time to prepare breakfast for myself and my family. I make breakfast for Amelia every day until she was about three  years old. What happened? I don’t really know, but for the last year, I haven’t cooked breakfast for us. Most days I don’t eat breakfast and my kids eat at the babysitter’s. What’s the big problem with this? Well, I mentioned above what a bear Amelia is when she wakes up. Maybe if I get up earlier and make breakfast, she will get up earlier to eat and will be ready to get going when she needs to. Also, she will be starting school in the fall. If she gets morning pre-K, she won’t be able to eat breakfast at the sitter’s. We need to get in a good habit of eating breakfast at the same time everyday because I can’t keep having our morning fight!

I will have time to read or organize my day better. No explanation needed, right?

I will try this for two months. After two months I will assess whether or not getting up at 5:00 am is helping my day. At that point, I will decide if I want to keep doing it or try something else. I will be sure to update you all when I reassess in March.

2 thoughts on “Early to Rise

  1. Pingback: Early To Rise: The 2-Month Update | Jessica's Kitchen Table

Leave a Reply

