Foodie Friday: Christmas Morning Breakfast

When I was a kid, my twin sister and I would wake up around 4:00 am on Christmas morning. We would tiptoe out to the living room to check out what Santa had brought us. Then we would go back to our bedroom (sometimes dragging our gifts with us) until about 6:00 am. When we could no longer contain our sheer excitement, we would pounce on our older sister and wake her up. I don’t remember ever actually going into my parents’ bedroom, but I’m sure we were loud enough to wake them up by 6:30 or 7:00. My dad was always grumpy, my mom was always taking unflattering pictures of us- especially once we entered the “awkward phase.” By 8:00 am we were pretty hungry. We would always beg mom to make us some chocolate chip pancakes. That was the tradition of Christmas breakfast, although I think it came about by accident.

Now that I have two daughters of my own, I want our Christmas morning breakfasts to be just as memorable a tradition for them. I searched Pinterest yesterday for breakfast ideas to start a new tradition, but I couldn’t really find anything that just really called my name. When I got home from work, my husband had purchased Christmas themed pancake molds. Thank you, honey! New tradition has started!!

What do you like to eat on Christmas morning? What fun family traditions keep your heart warm and full this time of year?

three little clampet girls

This picture may not be Christmas, I’m not really sure, but it is about 1987 I think.

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Christmas Morning Breakfast

Leave a Reply

