Thanksgiving Foodie Friday: Pumpkin Bread Pudding

countdown to thanksgiving

I love pumpkin, but I’m not the biggest fan of pumpkin pie. I love coconut cream pie, chocolate coconut cream pie, and then I’m just about out of pies that I like. But I do love pumpkin! So this year for Thanksgiving, I’m going to make a non-traditional pumpkin dessert: Caramel Pumpkin Bread Pudding. I did a test run of it last week and it turned out great! When I did my practice bread pudding, I put half the recipe into my small casserole dish and the other half into an 8×8 in foil pan to take to a friend. For Thanksgiving, I think I’m going to bake it in a muffin tin so that we will have little individual portions. I will reduce the cooking time by quite a bit, but I’m not sure exactly how much, so I’ll let you know that later.

Here’s what I did last week:

First, I cut a loaf of challah bread into cubes (my husband baked the bread) but you could use an Italian bread from the bakery or grocery store.

I put 3 eggs, one cup of milk and one cup of half n half in a very large mixing bowl and whisked it together. Then I added a 15 oz can of pumpkin puree and whisked some more. Next, I added in 2/3 cup brown sugar, 2/3 cup maple syrup, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp allspice, and 1/4 tsp ground cloves and I mixed well.

Then I slowly and carefully folded my bread cubes into my egg/pumpkin mixture, making sure the bread is nicely coated in pumpkin.

I baked this at 350 for 30 minutes. If you put the whole recipe into one dish, you would need to bake for 45 minutes. For the muffin tin approach that I plan to try later I will bake for 15 minutes and check it. I’m really not sure how long it’s going to take.

After it was baked, I poured caramel sauce on top. you can buy this in a jar, or make your own. I made my own like this:
I put 1/4 cup butter, 1/8 cup cream, and 1/2 cup brown sugar in a sauce pan and cooked over medium heat. The butter and sugar will melt and as it heats, it will turn that beautiful caramel color. Stir it often until it is thickened to your liking.

Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream!

IMG_2781

One thought on “Thanksgiving Foodie Friday: Pumpkin Bread Pudding

Leave a Reply

