Foodie Friday: Menu Planning

meal-plan

Do you menu plan? I started doing this about seven years ago. I was still a newlywed and I was a young professional woman who didn’t have a lot of time to shop and cook. I worked weird hours at a hotel in downtown OKC and grocery shopping was my very least favorite thing to do. After one of my dreaded shopping trips, I was pouting about how much money I had spent when I realized we still didn’t have anything to eat for dinner! After that I decided I better start planning our meals and I have never looked back.

Over the years I have gotten better at meal planning (thank you Pinterest!) and I wanted to share next week’s menu with you:

Monday:
Oven fried chicken
Cornbread
Sliced tomatoes
Green beans

Tuesday:
Bruschetta Salmon (just pan seared salmon topped with a mixture of halved cherry tomatoes, basil ribbons, garlic, salt, and balsamic vinegar)
Texas toast
Southern Tossed Salad
** I had an out-of-this-world side salad at a restaurant in OKC, and have been recreating it at home: mixed greens, strips of red bell pepper, thinly sliced red onion, cherry tomatoes, and cornbread croutons (I will use leftover cornbread from Monday)  all tossed in blue cheese dressing

Wednesday:
Spaghetti in meat sauce
Texas toast
Caesar salad

Thursday:
Cream Cheese Chicken Chili
Rice

Friday:
WafflesFruit salad
Sausage patties

I’m getting hungry already! I hope this inspires you to start menu planning or to get out of a menu planning rut!

2 thoughts on “Foodie Friday: Menu Planning

  1. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Quick and Easy Breakfast Ideas | Jessica's Kitchen Table

  2. Pingback: Menu Planning Update | Jessica's Kitchen Table

Leave a Reply

