Foodie Friday: Hobo Dinners

I love using my grill in the summer, and in Oklahoma, summer starts early. There are two BIG reasons I love my grill in hot weather. 1- it doesn’t heat up my kitchen and 2- clean up is a snap!

This week I was feeling particularly tired, and we had hobo dinners. There is nothing I do not love about hobo dinners! If  you’ve never heard of them, they are sometimes called tin-foil dinners or campfire dinners. Basically all of your dinner pieces are wrapped up in a foil parcel and grilled together. There is literally no mess. Once dinner has been eaten, I put our plates in the dishwasher and wipe down the table and counter tops (because there is raw meat involved, you want to disinfect your counters) and that’s it! Some people eat their hobo dinners right out of the foil packet, but I prefer to transfer to a plate because those little packets are hot.

You could put just about anything in these little packets that you like! Just mix and match veggies, starches, and meats to your own taste preferences!

Here’s what I put in mine (this time)

1/4 pound hamburger patties, a handful of baby carrots, a handful of tiny gold potatoes, a handful of cut zucchini and 1/4 of a yellow onion. I made 4 parcels, seasoned the whole thing with a little Greek seasoning, and threw them out on the grill for about 20 minutes (ground beef should be cooked to 160 degrees F).

Here are some other ideas for hobo dinners:

Smoked sausage, green beans, potatoes:

2410c70ceb82bc0b8b9d8601450af04b

Stew meat (cook to 145), squash, corn, green beans, and potatoes:

a54f8044d49284b9b8dd2edd8efc6f04

Chicken breast (cook to 165), bell peppers, potatoes, and carrots:

c25e6b54d3b64480b504c9b3379e4709

Leave a Reply

